Sharpie Pen Review

I’ve used a Sharpie Pen on and off for the past year and every time I use it, I’m reminded of all the reasons it’s a great pen and think that I should use it more often. Of course, then I put it down and use a fountain pen for weeks at a time, but the Sharpie Pen remains as one of the best pen’s I’ve used. So, for a lasting reminder: here’s what I think of the Sharpie Pen.

This pen, also known as the Sharpie Art Pen, is a light-weight, disposable pen made by, obviously, the Sharpie company. Yes, the company is ubiquitous with permanent marker, but this is a very good offering from them. It weighs in at 7 grams, making it the lightest pen I have reviewed. And for the weight, it doesn’t feel cheap. The cylindrical body is mid-sized, slim and made of plastic that has some resistance to it, which means that your hand won’t easily slip off the pen. And even though a thicker pen barrel would normally be a requirement for me, I found that I didn’t cramp up as much while using the Sharpie Pen.

There is no grip section to speak over, and the cap is a small plastic snap-cap that holds securely, but caps and un-caps with ease. It’s also postable, though that system is a friction-fit, rather than a snap. The pen has a small clip the size of the cap, but I found that it’s a very slippery clip. The pen is predominantly black, but with the cap and a small band matching the colour of the ink, of which there are twenty-one varieties.

And the ink, as well as the overall writing experience, is where this pen really shines. The pen has a plastic tip that comes in fine or medium. I’ve opted for the fine with black ink and tested this pen in my Rhodia Webnotebook. And it is super smooth. The tip practically glides across the page, and leaves a rich line behind it. The line width is a bit thicker than other pens, even slightly thicker than a fine Japanese nib, but it’s so negligible, and the line quality is so good, than I would make that trade any day. What’s more, the ink lives up to the “quick-drying” boast, which is a bonus for lefties. And to top all of that off, it’s a super reliable pen with no skipping or hard starts.

What more is there to say really? Sure, the pen body isn’t exactly what I like, but the writing experience is everything that I could ever want. Heck, even the aesthetics appeal to me, with the all-black sleek look. This is a hearty recommend from me, and it’s a bargain for around a dollar a pen.

This pen was purchased with my own funds.

Leave a comment