Diamine Inkvent Calendar – Day 13

I admit, I had to look up what mulled wine was. And having discovered what it was, I’m not sure if I’d enjoy it, though the theory is sound enough. But, if it’s all the same to everyone, I think I’ll stick to inks.

However, this holiday drink is the namesake of Diamine’s thirteenth ink of Inkvent: Mulled Wine, which creates a delightful rhyme with Diamine. It’s a standard ink, burgundy in colour and I’ve tested it, as always, in a Kaweco Sport with extra-fine nib and on a Rhoida Webnotebook.

I’ve been back and forth on this colour for a while. It’s similar to yesterday’s Noel, but I think it leans more into the purple than red, and I would argue is a bit brighter as well. There’s a bit of shading on broader nibs, but it’s quite plain otherwise. I quite like the colour; there’s enough purple in it to appeal to me.

However, I enjoyed the properties of this ink more. The dry time isn’t ideal, but it barely smudges after five seconds and that’s workable, if a bit long. It holds up decently against water, smearing a lot, but only washing out slightly and most of the words are still readable. This ink is fairly saturated, so there is some bleed through, but not much and only when large amounts are used.

The writing experience isn’t much to write about. The lines are rich and I had no issues using this ink. It’s not crazy smooth or painfully rough, with some feedback off the page. However, it’s notable that I was able to use this ink on a office pad with little issue. So bonus.

Overall, I like this ink. It feels a bit underwhelming coming directly after Noel and I can understand disappointment stemming from that. But personally, I favour this over Noel. The properties of it are really good and I like the colour more. Is it the best ink of Inkvent? No. But it’s pretty good.

Leave a comment