Diamine Inkvent 2021 – Day 5

I’ll admit to being a bit giddy when I first saw this ink. I may be a fiend for green inks, but purple has to be a close second in terms of a favorite colour. Which is why I was so eager to test this out, despite it not looking like much on the surface.

A bottle of Diamine Harmony

Diamine’s Day 5 ink is called Harmony. I’ll withhold my comments on the name, mostly because this was the first ink in the calendar that I looked at and instantly knew that I would like. It’s a standard purple ink, which meant that it was a colour I liked and had a low probability of giving me any issues. And through my normal testing, I’ve found that Harmony delivers on that.

Diamine Harmony on Midori paper

I want to start by discussing some of the ink’s properties, because it’s got a few that are interesting. Notably, it’s water resistance. I would not go so far as to say that Harmony is waterproof, but it held up surprisingly well, with only a little smudging and colour fading. Otherwise, I was able to read my writing after soaking the page. I was definitely impressed. the ink itself isn’t overly saturated, but still yields good, dark lines. It’s well behaved and I only had a little bleedthrough and ghosting. Par for the course with these inks.

Diamine Harmony on Rhodia paper

The colour is quite lovely as well. It’s a lighter purple that shades well and when I put it through a extra-fine nib, it puts down a dark purple lines suitable for writing with. It certainly feels like a lighter version of last calendar’s Winter Miracle without the shimmer in that it’s a purple that sits halfway between red and blue. It’s a personal preference to be sure, but I really enjoy this colour.

The writing experience was fairly standard. I had some feedback off the page, though not an uncomfortable amount. I didn’t have any ink flow issues and the lines were consistent. Harmony has an average drying time, though it seems to be on the shorter end of things.

Diamine Harmony on Leuchtturm paper

Overall, I like this ink and will be looking for more of it. I like the colour a lot and have no complaints about the writing experience. The water-resistance is nice, but it doesn’t matter much to me as I try not to have liquids at my writing desk. Harmony is a good, solid ink and I think that it’s a winner on this calendar.

A continuation of Dylan Thomas’ “A Child’s Christmas in Wales,” on Diamine Harmony

One thought on “Diamine Inkvent 2021 – Day 5

  1. Good to know about the water resistance – not something I test for. I found it very close to Diamine’s Damson and R&K’s Scabiosa in swatch-form, but not yet really compared them in writing. I like the dusky purple and shading very much.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment