Diamine Inkvent 2021 – Day 7

Candlelight is Diamine’s Day 7 ink, which is a perfectly festive name for a festive ink. It’s a standard yellow, evoking the flickering glow of a lit candle, but doesn’t have any other complexity immediately obvious. And none cropped up through my testing procedure, making this a “what you see is what you get” ink.

A bottle of Diamine Candlelight

Yellow inks aren’t something that I look for. The colour itself is not on my list of favorites and I like using inks with more contrast to the paper. However, I found this one to be quite good. It’s a rich, darker yellow, which helps it stand out off the page and makes it suitable for writing with. It shades a little, and it’s an interesting effect that I’m not sure that I like. I don’t hate it, but I do wonder if I would have preferred dark, uniform lines with this colour. I was tempted to compare it to last year’s Gold Star, but you can’t really say that this is Gold Star without the shimmer. Candlelight is darker and, dare I say, has a bit more personality.

Diamine Candlelight on Leuchtturm paper

The writing experience with Candlelight was as expected. It was a bit dry and I got quite a bit of feedback off the page, and it was on the high end of tolerable for me, but not really notable. I didn’t have any ink flow issues and the lines I got were clean and consistent. I had a little bit of bleed-through and ghosting, but in the same circumstances that I’ve seen it before in this series of inks. Overall, no surprises.

Diamine Candlelight on Midori paper

The dry time on Candlelight is on the shorter end of average, which is nice. Coupled with the darker colour and consistent ink flow, I didn’t have any concerns when using this ink. There is no water resistance to speak of, but this was totally expected. This ink smudges quickly and washes out pretty easily. I would keep liquids well away.

Diamine Candlelight on Rhodia paper

There is something to be said for being a solid ink with no surprises, and that’s what Candlelight is. When I saw what this ink was, I had a pretty good idea of what I was getting into and my testing confirmed what I thought: it’s an average ink. As a result, I have no complaints. So the question becomes about the colour, and it’s not for me. But if you like yellow inks, I don’t think you can go wrong with this one, and, for what its worth, I’ll happily use up my bottle.

A continuation of Dylan Thomas’ “A Child’s Christmas in Wales” in Diamine Candlelight

One thought on “Diamine Inkvent 2021 – Day 7

  1. I actually quite liked this ink. A more saturated amber yellow than some, and not as orange as others. I loved the shading, and in my use I got some very noticeable haloing, which I always enjoy as it gives an odd depth/3D illusion. Similar to but more complex than Diamine’s Honey Burst, and way more well behaved than Noodler’s Apache Sunset which I love the shading of, but bleeds like a haemophiliac on most papers I use. It looks much more orange than I expected when put next to this one. Thanks again for posting your observations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment