Diamine Inkvent Calendar – Day 15

I was a bit surprised to see a second blue ink in a row for day 15, but considering the wide range of shades you have to work with, I had high hopes for this one.

Diamine’s day fifteen ink is called Festive Cheer, which is a blue ink with purple tones, to the point that I’m actually calling it an indigo ink, with copper sheen. I’ve tested it on a Rhodia Webnotebook and using a Kaweco Sport extra-fine nib

I’m immediately in love with the colour. Indigo is, in my opinion, a lovely colour because of the depth that purple adds. The ink is dark and rich, ideal for writing and drawing. However, I struggled to see the advertised sheen. It’s very subtle, and the Rhodia paper didn’t do much to bring it out. But honestly, I’m not too bothered about that, considering the colour quality of this ink.

For how dark this ink is, it isn’t very saturated. I was easily able to clean it out of my pen and it doesn’t even ghost through the paper. The dry time is a bit long, still smearing a lot after 5 seconds, but drying up after ten, and it doesn’t hold up against water very well, almost completely washing out.

However, the writing experience of this ink is very nice. The pen glided across the page and there were no ink flow issues. The lines were consistently dark and crisp, and I really enjoyed using this ink.

I love this ink. I might love it more than yesterday’s Jack Frost. The colour is brilliant, the writing is super nice, and the fact that it doesn’t bleed through paper makes it a good notebook ink for me. I’m a bit confused that Diamine gave us two blues in a row, but this is the second really nice ink that we’ve gotten out of it, so I’m not complaining.

Leave a comment