Diamine Inkvent 2021 – Day 10

Day 10’s ink was another took me places that weren’t necessarily holiday related, though this time I wasn’t lead to think about a musical about vampires. Instead, I was taken down the path of nostalgia by Peach Punch, which was my absolute favorite juice box when I was young. I would almost go so far as to say that it was objectively the best. Pontification about boxed drinks aside, Diamine’s Peach Punch is firstly not meant for drinking, and secondly, a standard orange ink. I was curious to see where Diamine went with this and testing was a bit of a blast.

A bottle of Diamine Peach Punch

Peach Punch is a robust orange ink, which surprised me. Even with a broader nib, I didn’t get many light area or shading that would have matched what I was expecting. I thought it might be something a bit lighter and with more yellow. That said, it is a pretty nice, if basic, orange. It’s good for writing with and, if there is a complaint, it’s not going to be that it doesn’t look good. Peach Punch has no shimmer or sheen, which, as much as I like those effects, was absolutely the right call.

Diamine Peach Punch on Midori paper

The writing experience of this ink was also pretty standard. Peach Punch wrote smooth enough with a little feedback off the page. I didn’t have any ink flow issues, the lines I got were consistent and sharp, and I wasn’t uncomfortable when writing with it. In short, it did everything I could have asked for.

Diamine Peach Punch on Leuchtturm paper

This ink isn’t very saturated. In fact, you can look clear through it in the bottle. This made clean up fairly easy and I didn’t get much ghosting through the page. I was surprised to see some bleed-through as I didn’t expect an ink like this to do so, but it was significantly less than most of the inks ink this calendar. The dry time was fairly short, which was expected and welcome. Peach Punch also puts up a decent fight against water, taking a while for it to smudge, but it also washes out after a while, making it impossible to see what I wrote. Definitely not an ink you want near your drink

Diamine Peach Punch on Rhodia paper

Overall, I can’t complain about Peach Punch. It’s a fun ink with a good colour and nothing that makes using it a chore. I definitely see myself using up this bottle in the future. However, it’s not a particularly exciting ink for me. Orange is not my colour and there’s nothing about it that makes it a must-have. So it’s probably not going to be on my wish list going forward, but I think that if you have it on yours, you’ll really like it.

A continuation of Dylan Thomas’ “A Child’s Christmas in Wales” in Diamine Peach Punch

Leave a comment