Diamine Inkvent 2021 – Day 11

Diamine’s Day 11 ink is called Party Time, which is a heck of a name to go with a heck of a colour. It’s a purple ink with shimmer, which sounds like it fits the brief to a “T,” but my testing showed me that this wasn’t the ink that I was expecting, but in the best possible way.

A bottle of Diamine Party Time

Party Time isn’t a bog-standard purple. It leans a bit more red, bordering on magenta and I could also see an argument for it being a dark pink. It’s actually really complex and impressive. What isn’t up for debate is that I really like the colour. It’s rich and vivid, shades nicely and is just all-around lovely. Another surprise for me was the use of shimmer in this ink. I thought we might have a very shimmer-heavy ink on our hand, but it’s very subdued. You don’t see much of it, maybe a fleck or two of blue in your writing, and, even when you hold it up to light, the shimmer doesn’t take over the colour like a few of the other inks we’ve had.

Diamine Party Time on Midori Paper

The writing experience was unexpectedly smooth. I suspect that it’s because there’s either less or smaller shimmer particles in Party Time, which meant it avoid most of the issues that an extra-fine nib poses. I had very consistent ink flow, no hard starts and the ink was almost too wet in places. It’s very well-behaved and a pleasure to write with.

Diamine Party Time on Leuchtturm paper

This is a fairly saturated ink, but I didn’t have too much trouble cleaning it out or my pens. I also didn’t have ghosting and only a little bleed-through with Party Time, which is really impressive. The dry time is short to average and the only drawback is the lack of water resistance. And even then, it was as expected. Party Time smudges easily and washes out, making it very difficult to recover your writing once liquid’s gotten on it.

Diamine Party Time on Rhodia paper

This may be a bold statement, but Party Time’s an absolute winner for me. I love the colour, I love the effects and it preformed very well in my tests. I’m going to be looking to buy a bottle if I get a chance and, if you like purple-ish inks, I would recommend this one to you.

A continuation of Dylan Thomas’ “A Child’s Christmas in Wales” in Diamine Party Time

Leave a comment